Rosedale North, Rosedale South and Guerilla Bay
ROSEDALE NORTH and ROSEDALE SOUTH, though sharing the same beach are separated by Saltwater Creek that is often landlocked by the beach forming a small lake ideal for paddling.
Typical of many of our coastal hamlets neither of the Rosedales has a store nor any services however nearby Malua Bay in the north or Tomakin in the south are easily accessible.
This area is spectacular with its many beaches and coastal walks with natural beauty at every turn. With the exception of Burrewarra Point walk the walks of the area are not described. Care should be taken when wandering around the many clifftops as there have been numerous falls. Take care also when walking under overhanging cliffs as you explore the many rocky oceanside ledges as these have also been known to collapse without warning, especially after rain.
A word of warning on the non-patrolled beach as well. It can be quite dangerous and caution needs to be applied. Note the video below that shows the presence of rips.
Batemans Marine Park
Batemans Marine Park was established on 30 June 2007 and encompasses all the waters of Rosedale. While fishing is allowed it is best to familiarize yourself with the rules of the Marine Park. Visit our FISHING page for more information.
The Burrewarra Point Sanctuary Zone which includes Jimmies Island, commences south of the boundary line and extends around to Nuns Beach, Tranquil Bay, Guerilla Bay, around Burrewarra Point to Long Nose Point. All Recreational and Commercial fishing is prohibited in the Sanctuary Zone. The Burrewarra Point Sanctuary Zone is a breeding ground for grey nurse sharks which are critically endangered.
GUERILLA BAY is just a few kilometres to the south and has to be one of the most hidden, sheltered and picturesque bays in Eurobodalla.
At the northern end of the village on Bay Road you will find a carpark and small beach (see video). The landform in this bay is over 500 million years old.
Guerilla Bay is suitable for swimming and snorkelling when the seas are calm.
At the other end of the village, along Burri Point Road you will find a carpark. This is the starting point for the 1.5km Banksia Walk to Burrewarra Point with views up and down the coast. RAAF No 11 Operational Base Unit was situated at Moruya Aerodrome during World War 2 and RAAF No 17 Radar Station at Burrewarra Point was an allied unit.
The station was operational from April 1943 to 21 January 1945, giving radar coverage to the waters off this coast. These waters were actually the front line, 113 sailors were lost in submarine attacks on seven ships between Jervis Bay and Gabo Island.
Today a concrete bunker reminds us that there was a war here.
During whale migration this point it is also a popular and commanding spot to watch the passing parade of whales. Please note the cliff edges are not fenced making the walk unsuitable for toddlers and small children.
Rosedale Farm was first settled by James Sebbens, while the western end of the valley was settled by Karl Thomsen. Both men cleared the bush to establish their farms.
The father of James, also called James Sebbens was born in Essex in 1814. He was transported as a convict on the ‘John Barry’ in 1838 and was assigned to serve his time at Broulee. He received his certificate of freedom in 1848. In 1851 he married Celia Ann Barlings. Celia had arrived at Broulee from England with her parents in 1832 at the age of four years. The Sebbens family lived in the Tomakin area on a property called Oaks Ranch, southwest of Candlagan Creek. They had 14 children. James Sebbens died in 1876 and is buried at Moruya. His widow married Henry Rose (1820-1906), who is buried at Mogo.
Cecilia’s father, Richard Henry Barling, who was a free overseer, formalised his conditional purchase of portion 5 in 1852. Portion 5 is now the site of the Barlings Beach caravan park.
Joseph Sebbens, the eldest son of James and Cecilia, operated a steam mill at Malua Bay in the latter part of the 1800s with the help of his brother, William. This mill had been originally set up at Tomakin by a Robert Jennings in 1874 but was salvaged and moved by Joseph after Jennings abandoned it in the 1880s.
James Sebbens (junior), born 1858, cleared and developed Rosedale and parts of Burri/Guerilla Bay.
A surveyor's report of 1884 noted that there was 2 acres (0.81 ha) of cleared land, 38 acres (15 ha) of land with ring barked trees, and a house. Sebbens cleared all the land in portions 81, 214, 215 and most of 98, although it is not clear whether he cleared right to the cliff edge at what is now called North Rosedale. While significant regrowth has occurred, particularly during the last decades, the distinction in tree height and density can be seen.
From 1870 to 1908 the Sebbens family developed a farm of 700 acres (280 ha). They owned 430 acres (170 ha) and occupied but had no title to 285 acres (115 ha) of the land they farmed. They were mainly dairy farmers producing cheddar cheese. A set of old bails remains from this period near the creek downhill from the present farmhouse.
The farmhouse burnt down in the late nineteenth century. The present day farmhouse was constructed from two existing houses.
In 1908 the Sebbens family sold to Herman Nibbe and moved to western Sydney where they farmed poultry. At the time of the sale the property was consolidated into one title under freehold with all the conditional purchase areas being converted.
Twentieth century developments
Nibbe had tried to farm sheep as well as maintaining production of cheddar.
In financial difficulty he sold the property in 1913 but continued to farm under lease until 1921. Horace Benjamin O’Neil purchased the farm in 1921. The farm was starting to become less productive as the soils were not good and became depleted once the trees were cleared.
The first car in the district was an International Motor Buggy purchased in 1908 by Adolf Thomsen, a grazier at Tomakin. (The car is still owned by a Batemans Bay family.) The development of better transport through the availability of motor cars opened up the area.
There were very few buildings in Rosedale prior to the second world war with clearing of bush at South and North Rosedale undertaken for grazing. In the 1950s the council approved a subdivision yet the development ensured that bush remained more prominent than the buildings.